Production – Day 1

Screen Shot 2015-05-14 at 10.43.07On the First Day of shooting 22nd April, even with next to no sleep I felt prepared knowing that we had a long day ahead of us. We was on location first thing, as me and the crew arrived to the location, first the Coffee shop was closes which was what set off my panic button. Knowing that if this went wrong I had only me to blame, calmed me down. Finally setting up we was on track, however the owner had double booked so we has to wait half an hour to start. This is where I stepped in to talk to my actors. going through the script and having run thIMG_2653ough with them and letting them show me what they thought of the characters. which was really helpful to me as well as them I could see early on how that have taken on their characters.

IMG_8505I was happy with my choice with the female lead she had understood the character and taken the role on well. I felt I had to work with the male lead a little more, he has the right attitude when it came to the characters charm but the small glimmer of emotions was harder to get out. but as it was only just the first scene I wants to worried. We ended up filming for about 3 hours which was frustrating, when I went on my recce for the coffee shop it was nice and quiet. However on the day of the shot it happened to have road works next to the shop and with most takes the sound would pic up the sounds. However we managed our best, as soon as I called cut on the last take the memory card was full. Screen Shot 2015-04-23 at 21.17.15

Having lunch, clearing the card we started filming again. getting through the small scenes quick was great. but then the really problem started the battery on the camera died, so we had to stop the shoot and wait for the battery to charge as we didn’t get an extra battery. That is why we had an even longer shot because we has to keep start and stopping. We managed to get the main emotional scene shot. Wrapping up the day at 8pm was hard. especially as we had an other daScreen Shot 2015-04-23 at 21.29.48y shoot the next day and both actor where driving back and forth.

The first day was alway gonna be tricky as its the whole team together and we don’t know each other, even though it wasn’t awkward it was just challenging. After the actors had gone, I had taken on board the ups and downs of the day and made my own little plan of how day 2 will go.

Leave a Reply

