Process and Development

My idea for my FMP came from a simple conversation I had after my ‘passionate me’ presentation, in my presentation I put a picture of stereotype Indian family with the daughter getting married, and I said that if I didn’t get want I wanted out of my future that is where I would end up, married. The question was asked why? And that triggered a wave of thoughts in my mind, about my own culture.

My initial idea was to look into how Indian girls have become more independent and are braking away from the social stereotype of staying home and getting married when of age in the UK. There has been the question if Indian girls are losing their culture and becoming westernized. But there is a fine line between growing and changing with the time and losing you culture. And who is the one to determine if you are not accepted by your culture. When researching into the issue I found this subject is more aimed at people in India, I came across a YouTube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5eTDRa9Wcg) on the influence of western culture destroying Indian culture. This was an interesting video to watch but it wasn’t what I wanted to look at, as I wanted to focus more on the UK. There weren’t any strong facts on the topic in the UK, as I wanted to make a documentary.

As I Was looking into the western culture influencing the Indian’s I came across the topic of Indian families wanting boys over girls. I came across the documentary ‘It’s a Girl’, 2012. The documentary looked into eastern side of the world and the ‘gendercide’ of girls. It touched on the issues stemming from a long rooted from centuries-old tradition and cultural dynamics. It made me think that maybe these are some of the reasons for girls becoming more independent. Again there wasn’t much primary research into this. There has been movies like ‘Bend it Like Beckham’, which I watched for the 100th time, I noticed the relationship between the main Character, Jess and her coach. When they decided to be together her parents seemed to take it surprisingly well. It maybe just in my group of friends but we know your families would not be happy.

Even though there isn’t any factual evidence on the issues of cultural change in the British-Indian society. It is present, and slowly becoming the norm, even though it isn’t really accepted by the older generation. (http://www.desiblitz.com/content/do-interracial-marriages-work) in this article it shows some of the positive outcomes to interracial relationships, which show that there is a hand full of families out there, which have changed with the times. With interracial relationships some times come conditions, like families asking for the person to convert to their faith. There are many case studies about people converting to Islam, Christianity and Judaism. But do people convert because they want to or for their partners? There are many reasons why someone would convert; there is not general answer.

Through out my development process I have known I way to focus on Indian culture, as I have been brought up, learning the traditions, or still learning it has been hard trying to fit into the British culture, when being Indian is so present with my family life. I was intrigued about the idea of someone converting for love, and it also seems to be more common for females to convert, and I want to play on that and have it a male that changes for her. A short film has also been the way I wanted to go with the FMP, I did think of doing a documentary however there is so much out there and trying to get it all would be a much bigger project which I hope I can one day achieve.

As I have been researching and playing around my idea, I have found that when it comes to falling in love and or relationship it is traditions and families that come in between, yes religion has a part but it isn’t as big as family. So I have tweaked the story to the main male character not changing his religion but changing the way he sees his culture and questions his traditions and family.

References:

videos:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5eTDRa9Wcg

online articles/websites:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/women/womens-health/11207382/Why-criminalising-gender-abortions-is-sinister-and-wrong.html

http://blogs.independent.co.uk/2012/01/16/it’s-a-girl-the-three-deadliest-words-in-the-world/

http://www.filmeducation.org/pdf/film/Bend_It_Like_Beckham.pdf

http://www.desiblitz.com/content/do-interracial-marriages-work

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12075931

Films:

It’s a Girl, 2012, E.G. Davis

Bend It like Beckham, 2002, G.Chadah

 

Leave a Reply

