Primary and secondary research

From the beginning I knew I wanted to look into culture and for my FMP to have some kind of aspect of culture. My primary researched started with basic convocations with people I knew, which lead me to start looking into my own culture. I researched into issues that would help me focus my FMP. I also created two artifacts that helped me with my research.

My first bit of primary research was to talk to my friends, there was a group of about seven and we sat and just talked about the Indian culture. I know this really doesn’t count as research, but for me this was the first step in knowing wheatear or not the subject I wanted to look into was relevant, as It is on the Indian culture so what’s better then asking Indians. It was every enlightening as it showed me the idea of Indian girls becoming westernized wasn’t something I though to myself. The reason I have though of this a research is because we all live in different parts of the country, which shows me that this is an issue, which is recognized over a much bigger scale then I first thought. Which is similar to my first artifact, which was research into the topic of ‘converting for love’. It played a similar part as the conversation with my friends. Begin able to get general opinions on a subject does put it into prospective, especially which that topic is so divers. It also helped to give my secondary research some weight. It was in agreement that the real change in the culture is more to do in India. Yes British-Indians are not the same as Indians once was but that is to be with actually living in England, and the way their parents bringing them up. But Indians in India they have become westernized, I read into ‘Social Change in Modern India’, Srinivas (1995), which suggest that there are many reasons for the modern change, which is true, but due to some of the events occurred, like the British rule of India added ‘momentum’ to the modern changes.

My first artifact was a vocal vox pop, which helped me research into the subject of converting for love. I asked one simple question, would you convert for someone you love? Even though I was looking into the Asian culture, which from an article published by Catrin Nye on ‘BBC Asian Network’ (2011) data from 2001 “researchers estimated that there could be as many as 100,000 converts-of all ethnic backgrounds- in the UK” Which is massive. I found in with the vox pop that the statistic could be true, as 3 out of the 8 questioned, would consider the idea of converting for the person they loved. I thing I would have done better was to ask more people, with the sample I got it isn’t really enough to make a strong factual statement, it just helps me touch the edge of it. With the research I did on issues of converting for love, it did help me shape my idea about maybe it isn’t religion that is the main problem when it comes to ‘interracial relationships’.

“…The most stressful times for Asian Indians in north America occurs when adolescents begin to test or doubt all their cultural values, eventually breaking away from the traditional value system.”(Johnson-Powell, Yamanoto, 1997). This statement taken from Transcultural child development: psychological assessment and treatment, This statement puts it so clearly how parents feel about the idea of their children growing up and developing ideas of there own, it is the most ‘stressful’. ‘Bend it Like Beckham’ (2002) is a perfect example to how an adolescent breaking out from the traditions can become stressful. Even though the film plays on the stereotypes and turns it into a comedy, the issues deep down are with the parents not begin able to let go of the control they what over their daughter. Which is the real world isn’t funny, as in some cases the situation would end in disowning, even violence. There is a scene from the movie with is a clear example of how a Indian parent would react to something they don’t like, the power of using other member of the extended family that have brought sham on the family, and putting that pressure the children not to end up like that.

Overall I feel the researched conducted help shape my FMP, as in the beginning I was fishing in the pond, with a massive idea and no depth to it. With both primary and secondary research has helped create a clear path to going through each issues and seeing how strong they are. Now I am fishing in a river and I have a clearer idea to what type of subject I want to keep working on and which one I want to throw back. And I feel that with this being personal to begin with; it has become more then just an issue I thought about, it is a topic that would affect most people.

 

Bibliography:

‪Mysore Narasimhachar Srinivas‪, M. N.

Orient Blackswan, 1995

‘Social Change in Modern India’, Srinivas (1995)

Transcultural child development: psychological assessment and treatment

 

Catrin Nye on ‘BBC Asian Network’ (2011) http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12075931

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P5eTDRa9Wcg

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqTvmL8r75I

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

